The Alliance has incorporated all the experience of the "Technology Commercialization" project. "Technology Commercialization" project was implemented within the framework of the Loan Contract between the Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan and the World Bank.

The aim of the project was to create the necessary conditions for scientists in our country to enable them commercialize their developments on a systematic basis. In other words, the project had a broad task that goes beyond a simple implementation of the results of scientific and technical activities of certain projects in the economy of the country.

Key components of the Project are:

1. Strengthening the scientific base of Kazakhstan;

2. Provision of links between science and markets;

3. Software Management.

I. Strengthening the scientific base of the Project was provided by identifying and promoting the development of Kazakhstan's leading scientists and talented researchers to conduct research and development according to international standards.

As part of this component, the following was done as of today:

1) Created the International Science and Commercialization Board (ISCB);
All the projects of senior and junior researchers went through a transparent selection process on a competitive basis and were selected by competent experts of their field – the members of International Council of Science and Commercialization, briefly referred to as ISCB. This Council consists of five prominent scientists from such countries as the USA, Germany, Russia, Saudi Arabia, and two technologies commercialization experts from developed in terms of innovation regions of the USA - Silicon Valley and Michigan..

2) Conducted a grant issue program among groups of senior researchers (GSR) and groups of junior researchers (GJR);
Under the first component of the project, the management group of the project has fully supported the work of ICSC members, who selected 33 technology commercialization subprojects out of 785 applications in 3 rounds of grant program and visited Kazakhstan every six months during the last 5 years.

3) Created an International material science centre (IMSC) at Karaganda State Technical University.

In 2013, ICSC selected Karaganda State Technical University out of 9 candidates to create IMSC. From 2014-2015, a modern model of the laboratory centre specialized in mining industry as well as materials publishing in its web-portal, website, popular science magazine and online community for collegial exchanging of scientific research articles, news, job offers, and events were created with the direct methodological support of the SUE within a very short period.

The main functions of IMSC is:

- to provide access to all the research equipment of national laboratories and shared use laboratories for research purposes by means of a web-site and information portal in the field of materials science by domestic and foreign scientists;

- to coordinate national laboratories, shared use laboratories, research centres in a single space virtualization with foreign laboratories and centres.

II. The second component of the Project which is to ensure the link between science and markets was achieved by establishing of "Technology Commercialization Centre" LLP (TCC). The main objective of TCC is to commercialize the results of scientific and technological activities by their introduction into real economy.

The main activities of TCC are:

1) The program of innovative grants. TCC held two rounds of the grant program for two types of grants: a) concept justification - development of technical documentation and its certification, etc. b) development of industrial design of products - entering into pilot or small-scale production;

2) Technological audit. Company conducts comprehensive analytical study of tools and mechanisms of implementation and commercialization of scientific and technical activities of the innovative system in the Republic of Kazakhstan to provide recommendations and suggestions for its further improvement;

3) Development of the TCC knowledge distribution system with the support of CRDF Global experts on a regular basis; seminars, trainings, conferences, round tables and other awareness-raising activities were conducted.

As a result of two rounds of grant programs in 2014, the members of the grant commission reviewed 726 applications and selected 33 project concept justifications and industrial prototypes for the amount of 1.4 bln. tenge. 12 specialists passed training in the University of Texas, the USA. Distribution of knowledge across Kazakhstan - 881 certificates were issued on 27 seminars.

IIIThe third component of the Project refers to its coordination, implementation, and project management. It was implemented by the Management Group of the Ministry of Education and Science of Kazakhstan, which carries out all the operating functions related to the implementation of the Project. Project Management Group operates under the rules and procedures approved by the World Bank which are set forth in the Operational Manual for the Project. "Technology Commercialization" project achieved good results. 65 projects were selected in the framework of the project.

RESULTS:

- 40 projects have reached the first sale;

- 99 contracts were signed;

- The amount of project revenue amounted to 908.6 million tenge;

- 27.7 million tenge of investments were attracted;

- 10 license agreements were signed.

All this became possible due to:

•transparent selection on a competitive basis with the participation of leading international experts in science and technology commercialization;

•a sufficient amount of funding, covering all stages starting from the research in a laboratory to launch in the market;

•flexible system administration grants to vary the implementation of the plans, including procurement and financing plans;

•project support by managers who received advanced training in the United States;

•attracting international consultants with a condition of staying in Kazakhstan to transfer their experience to the managers.

 

Fostering the profession of technology commercialization managers.

The CRDF Global Group’s key task was to develop capacity of the local TCO staff, and the international consultants were actively involved in the process of training and supervising the TCO commercialization managers to ensure regular knowledge transfer. As a result, the TCP helped to build a strong cadre of technology commercialization specialists in Kazakhstan, majority of them trained in the United States as part of the project. The Association of Technology Commercialization Professionals (ATCP) in Kazakhstan was created to ensure that the knowledge built through TCP is not lost. The ATCP aims to further raise the awareness of technology commercialization and entrepreneurship, and support the NIS.

IMPLEMENTATION COMPLETION AND RESULTS REPORT

Changing the way of thinking: Technology commercialization in Kazakhstan

Альянс вобрал в себя весь опыт проекта «Коммерциализация технологий». Проект «Коммерциализация технологий» реализовывался в рамках Соглашения о займе между Правительством Республики Казахстан и Всемирным Банком.

Цель Проекта заключалась в создании необходимых условий ученым в нашей стране для возможности коммерциализировать свои разработки на системной основе. Иными словами, перед Проектом стояла широкая задача, выходящая за рамки простого внедрения результатов научно-технической деятельности определенных проектов в экономику страны.

Ключевыми компонентами Проекта являлись:

1. Укрепление научной базы Казахстана;

2. Обеспечение связи науки с рынками;

3. Программное управление.

I. Укрепление научной базы в рамках Проекта было обеспечено за счет определения и содействия в развитии ведущих казахстанских ученых и талантливых исследователей, для проведения научных исследований и разработок по международным стандартам.

В рамках этого компонента на сегодняшний день:

1) Создан Международный совет науки и коммерциализации (МСНК);
Все проекты старших и младших научных сотрудников прошли через прозрачную процедуру отбора на конкурсной основе и были выбраны компетентными своей сфере экспертами, - членами Международного Совета по Науке и Коммерциализации, коротко именуемые МСНК. Данный совет состоит из 5 выдающихся ученых с таких стран как США, Германия, Россия, Саудовская Аравия, и двух экспертов по коммерциализации технологий из развитых в плане инноваций регионов США – Кремниевой Долины и Мичигана.

2) Проведена Программа выдачи грантов среди групп старших научных сотрудников (ГСНС) и групп младших научных сотрудников (ГМНС);
В рамках первого компонента Проекта Группой управления проектом была полностью сопровождена работа членов МСНК, которые отобрали 33 подпроекта коммерциализации технологий из 785 заявок 3 раундов грантовой программы и посещали Казахстан каждые полгода на протяжении последних 5 лет.

3) Создан Международный центр материаловедения (МЦМ) на базе Карагандинского государственного технического университета.
В 2013 году МСНК для создания МЦМ из 9 претендентов был отобран Карагандинский государственный технический университет. С 2014-2015 годы при непосредственной методологической поддержке ГУПа, в рекордно короткие сроки была создана современная модель лабораторного центра по направлению горная металлургия и материалы со своим web-порталом, сайтом, научно-популярным журналом и интернет-сообществом для научного коллегиального обмена научными статьями, новостями, вакансиями и событиями.
Основными функциями МЦМ является: - предоставление доступа ко всему исследовательскому оборудованию национальных лаборатории и лаборатории коллективного пользования для проведения научных исследований на основе использования web-сайта и информационного портала в области материаловедения отечественными и зарубежными учеными; - координации деятельности национальных лабораторий, лабораторий коллективного пользования, исследовательских центров в едином пространстве витруализации с лабораториями и центрами Дальнего Зарубежья.

II. Второй компонент Проекта по обеспечению связи науки с рынками выполнен посредством создания ТОО «Центр коммерциализации технологий» (ЦКТ). Основной задачей ЦКТ является коммерциализация результатов научно-технической деятельности путем их внедрения в реальный сектор экономики.

Основные направления деятельности ЦКТ:

1) Программа инновационных грантов. ЦКТ провел два раунда грантовой программы по двум типам грантов: а) обоснование концепции – разработка технической документации и ее сертификация и т.п. б) разработка промышленного образца продукции – выход на опытно-промышленное или мелкосерийное производство;

2) Технологический аудит Компания проводит комплексные аналитические исследования инструментов и механизмов внедрения и коммерциализации результатов научно-технической деятельности инновационной системы РК, с последующей выработкой рекомендаций и предложений по ее дальнейшему совершенствованию;

3) Развитие системы распространения знаний ЦКТ при поддержке экспертов CRDF Global на постоянной основе проводились семинары, тренинги, конференции, круглые столы и др. информационно-разъяснительные мероприятия.

По итогам двух раундов грантовых программ в 2014 году членами грантовой комиссии из 726 заявок отобрано 33 проекта обоснования концепций и промышленных прототипов на сумму 1.4 млрд. тенге. 12 специалистов прошли тренинг в США в University of Texas. Распространение знаний по всему Казахстану – 881 сертификат выдан по итогам 27 семинаров.

IIIТретий компонент Проекта относится к его координации, реализации и управлению проекта. Реализуется Группой Управления при Министерстве образования и науки РК, которая осуществляет все операционные функции по вопросам, связанным с реализацией Проекта. Группа управления проектом работает в рамках правил и процедур, утвержденных Всемирным банком и изложенных в Операционном руководстве к Проекту. Проект «Коммерциализация технологий» достиг хороших результатов. Всего в рамках проекта было отобрано 65 проектов.

РЕЗУЛЬТАТЫ:

- 40 проектов вышли на первые продажи;

- заключено 99 договоров;

- сумма продаж по проектам составила 908,6 млн. тг.;

- привлечено 27,7 млн. тг. инвестиций;

- заключено 10 лицензионных соглашений.

Все это было достигнуто благодаря:

•Прозрачному отбору на конкурсной основе с привлечением ведущих международных экспертов по науке и коммерциализации технологий;

•Достаточному уровню финансирования, покрывающий все стадии от исследований в лаборатории до выхода на рынок;

•Гибкой системе администрирования грантов с возможностью изменения планов реализации, в том числе планов закупок и финансирования;

•Сопровождению проектов со стороны менеджеров, получивших повышение квалификаций в США;

•Привлечение международных консультантов с условием пребывания на территории Казахстана с передачей опыта менеджерам.

 

Меняя образ мышления: Коммерциализация технологий в Казахстане